Bamberger Circumcisions
by Avraham MALTHÊTE

 

In the collection of Hebrew manuscripts belonging to the Séminaire Israélite de France (or École Rabbinique de France) in Paris, I have found in June 2006 a small volume under call-number ER 141 composed of :

  1. 1. A printed booklet under title Zokher habrith זורכ הברית. It is an in-12°, constituted of 16 folios, 8 in Hebrew and 8 in lashôn ashkenaz לשון אשכנז. It has been published in Amsterdam in 1714 by Solomon-Zalman LONDON and never re-printed (1).
  2. 2. A handwritten register of circumcisions containing 687 acts ; the Mohel, whom I have identified, Ascher BLUMENTHAL(2), lives in Altenschönbach, Low Franconia, Bavaria, between Würzburg-am-Main and Fürth; this village is situated today in Landkreis Kitzingen. His activity begins Tuesday, 31st october 1797 and ends Thursday, 21st June 1855. This Mohelbuch contains 56 folios ; wrong bounded. It begins at folio 4r, unto folio 41v (circumcision N° 504). Afterwards, from folio 2r (there is no folio 1 !) unto folio 3v (Nos 505 to 529), and finally from folio 42r unto 55v (Nos 530 to 687).
  3. 3. A bifolio in parchment (95 x 140 mm), fol. 56-57, containing Ne 9.8-11 (from Vekarata imo brith וכרת עמו ברית), then Ex 14.10-15.18, then Ps 22.29, then Ob 1.21, then Za 14.9 and Dt 6.4 (cf. Shaharit, Siddur ashkenaz).

  1. Act of circumcision N° 56, folio 8r :

  2. The 6th day, eve of the Holy Sabbath, 2nd day of Rosh-'Hodesh Adar II [562] (3), I have circumcised Kalonymos-Tsevi, son of His Honour the rabbi Sim'ha, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

  3. Act of circumcision N° 78, folio 9v :

  4. The 4th day, 13th Ellul [563] (4), I have circumcised the foreskin of Jacob, son of His Honour the Rabbi Sim'ha, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

  5. Act of circumcision N° 122, folio 13r :

  6. The 3rd day, 1st day of Rosh ha-Shana 566 (5), I have circumcised the foreskin of Joseph, son of His Honour the Rabbi Sim'ha, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

  7. Act of circumcision N° 144, folio 14v :

  8. The 6th day, eve of the Holy Sabbath, 12 Mar'heshvan [568] (6), I have circumcised the foreskin of Isaac-Dov, nicknamed Seligmann-Ber, son of His Honour the Rabbi Sim'ha, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

  9. Act of circumcision N° 180, folio 17r :

  10. The 2nd day, Yom Kippur [571] (7), ] , I have circumcised the foreskin of Moses-Aryeh, son of His Honour the Rabbi Sim'ha, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

  11. Act of circumcision N° 439, folio 37r :

  12. The 5th day, 28th Tammuz [593] (8), I have circumcised the foreskin of Sim'ha, son of our Master, the Rav Rabbi Isaac-Dov Segal, nicknamed Seligmann-Behr, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

  13. Act of circumcision N° 486, folio 40v :

  14. The 6th day, eve of the Holy Sabbath, 9th Iyyar [595] (9), I have circumcised the foreskin of Solomon, nicknamed Zalman, son of our Master, the Rav Rabbi Isaac-Dov Ha-Levi, nicknamed Seligmann-Behr, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

  15. Act of circumcision N° 531, folio 42r :

  16. The 5th day, 25th Nissan [598] (10), I have circumcised the foreskin of Moses-Aryeh, son of our Master, the Rav Rabbi Isaac-Dov, nicknamed Seligmann-Behr, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

  17. Act of circumcision N° 558, folio 44r :

  18. The 2nd day, 29th [600] (11), I have circumcised the foreskin of Isaac, nicknamed Zeckel, son of our Master, the Rav Rabbi Isaac-Dov, nicknamed Seligmann-Behr, of Wiesenbronn. Let YHWH him grow for the Torah, the 'Huppah and the good deeds, Amen.

Notes

  1. Cf. Vinograd, Thesaurus of the Hebrew Book, Jérusalem, 1993, vol. 2, N° 1014, page 54, with an error about the described size; Ch. B. Friedberg, Bet Eked Sepharim, vol. I, N° 113, page 318.    Back to text.
  2. At the act of circumcision N° 501, he doesn’t write תק"א, but אשר, his first name, which is the same gematria.    Back to text.
  3. Friday, 5th March 1802. If so, he is born Friday, 26th Februar 1802.    Back to text.
  4. Wednesday, 31st August 1803. If so, he is born in Wiesenbronn, Wednesday, 24th August 1803. Brother of the previous.    Back to text.
  5. Tuesday, 24th September 1805. If so, he is born in Wiesenbronn, Tuesday, 17th September 1805. Brother of the previous.    Back to text.
  6. Friday, 13th November 1807. Circumcision act of Seligmann-Bär BAMBERGER (the Würzburger Rov !), born in Wiesenbronn, Friday, 6th November 1807. Cf. Carsten Wilke, Biographisches Handbuch der Rabbiner, Teil 1, Band 1, K. G. Saur, München, 2004, N° 0103, page 167. Brother of the two previous.    Back to text.
  7. Monday, 8th October 1810. If so, he is born in Wiesenbronn, Monday, 1st October 1810. Brother of the previous.    Back to text.
  8. Thursday, 26th July 1832. Circumcision act of Simon-Simkha BAMBERGER, eldest son of the Würzburger Rov, born in Wiesenbronn, Thursday, 19 th July 1832. Cf. Carsten Wilke, op. cit., N° 0104, page 17.    Back to text.
  9. Friday, 8th May 1835. Brother of the previous ; circumcision act of Salomon-Zalman BAMBERGER, born in Wiesenbronn, Friday, 1st May 1835. Cf. Carsten Wilke, op. cit., ibid., N° 0102, page 167.    Back to text.
  10. Thursday, 19th avril 1838. Brother of the previous ; circumcision act of Moses-Loeb BAMBERGER, born in Wiesenbronn, Thursday, 12th avril 1838. Cf. Carsten Wilke, op. cit., ibid., N° 0101, page 167.    Back to text.
  11. Monday, 7th October 1839. Brother of the previous ; circumcision act of Isaac-Zeckel BAMBERGER, born in Wiesenbronn, Monday, 30th September 1839.


Rabbins Histoire Accueil

Judaisme alsacien
A . S . I . J . A .

Circoncisions Bamberger
par Avraham MALTHÊTE

 

Dans la collection de manuscrits appartenant au Séminaire Israélite de France (ou École Rabbinique), se trouve un manuscrit sous la cote ER 141 constitué comme suit :

  1. Un ouvrage imprimé portant comme titre Zokher habrith זורכ הברית. C'est un in-12° constitué de 16 folios, 8 en hébreu et 8 en lashôn ashkenaz לשון אשכנז. Il a été édité à Amsterdam en 1714 par Salomon-Zalman LONDON et n'a jamais été réimprimé (1).
  2. Un registre de circoncisions contenant 687 actes ; le mohel (circonciseur), que j'ai identifié, Oscher BLUMENTHAL (2), habite Altenschönbach, en Bavière (en Basse-Franconie), entre Wurzbourg-sur-le-Main et Fürth, village situé aujourd'hui dans le Landkreis de Kitzingen. Son activité commence le mardi 31 octobre 1797 et se termine le jeudi 21 juin 1855. Le Mohelbuch (registre du circonciseur) contient 55 folios ; mal relié, il commence au folio 4r, se poursuivant jusqu'au folio 41v (circoncision N° 504). Il reprend du folio 2r (il n'y a pas de folio 1 !) au folio 3v (N° 505 à 529), puis du folio 42r au folio 55v (N° 530 à 687).
  3. Un bifeuillet en parchemin (95 x 140 mm), fol. 56-57, contenant Néhemie 9:8-11 (depuis Vekarata imo brith וכרת עמו ברית), puis Exode 14:10-15:18, puis Psaume 22:29, puis Obadia 1:21, puis Zacharie 14:9 et Deuteronome 6:4 (cf. Sha'harith, rituel ashkénaze).

  1. Acte de circoncision N° 56, folio 8r :

  2. Le 6e jour, veille du saint Shabath, 2e jour de Rosh-'Hodesh Adar II [562] (3), j'ai circoncis Kalonymos, surnommé Kalmann, fils de Son Honneur le rabbin Sim'ha, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour [l'étude de] la Torah, la 'Huppah [le dais nuptial] et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

  3. Acte de circoncision N° 78, folio 9v :

  4. Le 4e jour, 13 Ellul [563] (4), j'ai circoncis le prépuce de Jacob, fils de Son Honneur le rabbin Sim'ha, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour la Torah, la 'Huppah et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

  5. Acte de circoncision N° 122, folio 13r :

  6. Le 3e jour, 1er jour de Rosh ha-Shana 566 (5), j'ai circoncis le prépuce de Joseph, fils de Son Honneur le rabbin Sim'ha, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour la Torah, la 'Huppah et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

  7. Acte de circoncision N° 144, folio 14v :

  8. Le 6e jour, veille du saint Shabath, le 12 Mar'heshvan [568] (6), j'ai circoncis le prépuce d'Isaac-Dov, surnommé Séligmann-Ber, fils de Son Honneur le rabbin Sim'ha, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour la Torah, la 'Huppah et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

  9. Acte de circoncision N° 180, folio 17r :

  10. Le 2e jour, Yom Kipour [571] (7), j'ai circoncis le prépuce de Moïse-Aryé, fils de Son Honneur le rabbin Sim'ha, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour la Torah, la 'Huppah et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

  11. Acte de circoncision N° 439, folio 37r :

  12. Le 5e jour, 28 Tamouz [593] (8), j'ai circoncis le prépuce de Sim'ha, fils de notre maître et rabbin, Rabbi Isaac-Dov Ségal, surnommé Séligmann-Behr, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour la Torah, la 'Huppah et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

  13. Acte de circoncision N° 486, folio 40v :

  14. Le 6e jour, veille du saint Shabath, 9 Iyyar [595] (9), j'ai circoncis le prépuce de Salomon, surnommé Zalman, fils de notre maître et rabbin, Rabbi Isaac-Dov Halévi, surnommé Séligmann-Behr, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour la Torah, la 'Huppah et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

  15. Acte de circoncision N° 531, folio 42r :

  16. Le 5e jour, 25 Nissan [598] (10), j'ai circoncis le prépuce de Moïse-Aryé, fils de notre maître et rabbin, Rabbi Isaac-Dov, surnommé Séligmann-Behr, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour la Torah, la 'Huppah et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

  17. Acte de circoncision N° 558, folio 44r :

  18. Le 2e jour, 29 Tishri [600] (11), j'ai circoncis le prépuce d'Isaac, surnommé Zeckel, fils de notre maître et rabbin, Rabbi Isaac-Dov, surnommé Séligmann-Behr, de Wiesenbronn. Que YHWH le fasse grandir pour la Torah, la 'Huppah et les bonnes œuvres, Amen.

Notes

  1. Cf. Vinograd, Thesaurus of the Hebrew Book, Jérusalem, 1993, vol. 2, N° 1014, page 54, avec une erreur sur le format décrit; Ch. B. Friedberg, Bet Eked Sepharim, vol. I, N° 113, page 318.    Retour au texte.
  2. A l'acte de circoncision N° 501, il n’écrit pas תק"א, mais אשר, son prénom, qui a la même guématria.    Retour au texte.
  3. Vendredi 5 mars 1802 ; il est donc né probablement le vendredi 26 février 1802.    Retour au texte.
  4. Mercredi, 31 août 1803 ; il est donc né probablement à Wiesenbronn le mercredi 24 août 1803. Frère du précédent.    Retour au texte.
  5. Mardi 24 septembre 1805 ; il est donc né probablement à Wiesenbronn le mardi 17 septembre 1805. Frère du précédent.    Retour au texte.
  6. Vendredi 13 novembre 1807. Il s'agit de Seligmann-Bär BAMBERGER (le Würzburger Rov !), né à Wiesenbronn le vendredi 6 novembre 1807. Cf. Carsten Wilke, Biographisches Handbuch der Rabbiner, Teil 1, Band 1, K. G. Saur, München, 2004, N° 0103, page 167. Frère du précédent.    Retour au texte.
  7. Lundi 8 octobre 1810 ; il est donc né probablement à Wiesenbronn le lundi 1er octobre 1810. Frère du précédent.    Retour au texte.
  8. Jeudi 26 juillet 1832. Il s'agit de Simon-Sim'ha BAMBERGER, l’aîné des fils du Würzburger Rov, né à Wiesenbronn le jeudi 19 juillet 1832. Cf. Carsten Wilke, op. cit., N° 0104, page 170.    Retour au texte.
  9. Vendredi 8 mai 1835. Frère du précédent, il s'agit de Salomon-Zalman BAMBERGER, né à Wiesenbronn le vendredi 1er mai 1835. Cf. Carsten Wilke, op. cit., ibid., N° 0102, page 167.    Retour au texte.
  10. Jeudi 19 avril 1838. Frère du précédent, il s'agit de Moses-Löb BAMBERGER, né à Wiesenbronn le jeudi 12 avril 1838. Cf. Carsten Wilke, op. cit., ibid., N° 0101, page 167.    Retour au texte.
  11. Lundi 7 octobre 1839. Frère du précédent, il s'agit d’Isaac-Zeckel BAMBERGER, né à Wiesenbronn le lundi 30 septembre 1839.


Rabbins Histoire Accueil

Judaisme alsacien
A . S . I . J . A .